What does the sciatic nerve do?

The sciatic nerve originates in the lower spine and is responsible for motor and sensory functions of the lower body. The sciatic nerve provides the majority of the functions in the lower limbs and makes actions such as walking, running, climbing, lifting weights, and standing possible