Is lactose free the same as dairy free?

lactose-free and dairy-free on various products and foods. While they may sound the same, they do not mean the same thing. Lactose-free foods are dairy products where the lactose has been removed, whereas dairy-free means there is no dairy at all; the food is made from plants or nuts instead.

---

No. Some dairy products contain lactose (also known as milk sugar), but other dairy products like aged cheese may not. Some milk is sold as "lactose free" when in fact it may simply contain added lactase, which is the enzyme that digests lactose in the body.