Why do they call it the wailing wall?

The Western Wall, also called the Wailing Wall, is in the Old City of Jerusalem. It is a place of prayer and pilgrimage sacred to the Jewish people. It is the only remains of the retaining wall surrounding the Temple Mount, the site of the First and Second Temples of Jerusalem.