What is getting canceled mean?

Getting canceled means you wipe out all references to the culture, belief, teaching, person, society. As is happening in much of the world today, the Confederate Battle flags, statues and monuments of the Civil War between the USA and The CSA. The same is happening in many of the old USSR countries.