What's the difference between an espresso bean and a regular coffee bean?

Both espresso and regular coffee start with a basic coffee bean, though the beans may be roasted differently. Espresso is a coffee brewing [method], using a smaller amount of heated water, to provide a more concentrated coffee flavor.