What's the difference between an espresso bean and a regular coffee bean?

Both espresso and regular coffee start with a basic coffee bean, though the beans may be roasted differently. Espresso is a coffee brewing [method], using a smaller amount of heated water, to provide a more concentrated coffee flavor.

---

Most coffee beans are either Robusta or Arabica beans. This holds true for any type of coffee drink you produce—including espresso. The espresso bean is simply a coffee bean that’s roasted more, ground finer, and brewed in an espresso machine or aeropress.