When were guns invented?

The 1st device identified as a gun, a bamboo tube that used gunpowder to fire a spear, appeared in China around AD 1000. The Chinese had previously invented gunpowder in the 9th century. Historical timeline of the development of modern weapons starting at 1364 with the 1st recorded use of a firearm