Why do babies get gas?

Excess upper intestinal gas can result from swallowing an unusual amount of air, overeating, smoking or chewing gum. Excess lower intestinal gas can be caused by eating too much of certain foods, inability to fully digest certain foods or by a disruption in bacteria normally found in the colon.