Is is a pronoun?

A pronoun is a word that is used instead of a noun or noun phrase. Pronouns refer to either a noun that has already been mentioned or to a noun that does not need to be named specifically. ... The main possessive pronouns are mine, yours, his, hers, its, ours, and theirs.