What is the weapon that the grim reaper carries?

The "Grim Reaper" carries a tool that was used to cut crops or grass before the invention of combine harvesters. This tool was called a "scythe" and the people harvesting the crops were called "reapers" - hence the name for "Death" - the Grim Reaper who comes to harvest people.