What is apolstery?

Upholstery is the work of providing furniture, especially seats, with padding, springs, webbing, and fabric or leather covers. It also means to the materials used to upholster something. Upholstery comes from the Middle English word upholder, which referred to an artisan who makes fabric furnishings