What is pete?

Pete is a common male name. A homonym, P.E.A.T. is a type of soil that is rich in nutrients and was commonly used in gardening. This is now frowned upon. Harvesting peat damages the environment. Undisturbed peat is an excellent carbon sink, purifies water and prevents floods and wildfires