Why is the stanley cup called the stanley cup?

Lord Stanley of Preston was Canada's sixth governor general from 1888 to 1893. ... Lord Stanley wanted the cup to be called the Dominion Hockey Challenge Cup. It was decided the trophy should be named after him. It's been known as the Stanley Cup ever since