Can maple syrup go bad?

Mold can develop on maple syrup when opened but it’s not a sign of spoilage. Pure maple syrup crystallizes when it gets old, but that’s not a sign of spoilage either. The long shelf life is due to high sugar content. Sugar acts as the syrup’s primary preserving agent preventing microbial growth.