How do you train a horse in minecraft?

While not holding an item, click on the Horse like you would to use an item. The Horse will most likely buck you off. You need to repeat this until hearts appear. Once your Horse is tamed, it will no longer buck you off, but you need to put a saddle on it before you can control where it goes.