What year was ella fitzgerald popular?

From rags to riches her illustrious career spanned 6 decades! Early public performances were on the streets of Harlem in1933 until her discovery Nov. 21st, 1934 in amateur night at the Apollo! She is considered to be 1 of the most iconic artist of all time to join the list of the Classic Elite!