How did the headless horseman lose his head?

Traditional folklore tells us that the Headless Horseman was a Hessian trooper who was decapitated by an American cannonball during the Battle of White Plains in 1776.

---

He was decapitated by an American cannonball, and the shattered remains of his head were left on the battlefield while his comrades hastily carried his body away.