What is a water fly?

any of an order (Plecoptera) of insects with an aquatic carnivorous nymph having gills and an adult having long antennae, two pairs of membranous wings, and usually long cerci. A dragonfly is an example of a water fly.

---

The definition of a water fly: 1: stone fly. 2: a fly (as a dragonfly) habitually found over or by the water.