Why is mercury so hot?

Mercury is so hot in part because it is the closest planet to our sun, and because most of its atmosphere has been stripped away by the sun's solar winds. It is lacking a molten core at it's center to generate far reaching magnetic waves, known as it's magnetosphere, to deflect oncoming solar winds.