How long can cooked white rice last at room temperature?

Leftover rice is the leading cause of food poisoning on the Hawaiian Islands. How long a food can last at room temperature is varies with the relative humidity of the food and air, and the temperatures of the room and the food when it is left there. To be safe, store leftover rice in the fridge.