What's the substitute for dry sherry in cooking?

An equal measure of dry, red or white wine can be used in any recipe calling for cooking sherry. Port, Madeira or Marsala can also be used. Rice wine vinegars add an Asian flair. Wine vinegars, in most cases, have the flavor but not the alcoholic content of wine.