What is the hottest onion?

Red Onions are sharper and spicier than yellow onions. You'll often see them raw in things like Greek salad or kachumber. White onions are probably the strongest tasting onion. They're typically used in Asian and Mexican dishes, as well as potato and macaroni salads. You can also sauté them.