What is defcon five?

The defense readiness condition (DEFCON) is an alert state used by the United States Armed Forces. It increases in severity from DEFCON 5 (least severe) to DEFCON 1 (most severe) to match varying military situations, with DEFCON 1 signalling the outbreak of nuclear warfare.