When did wayne gretzky start playing hockey?

Gretzky started playing hockey at the age of two in his hometown of Brantford Ontario. By six he was playing minor hockey at a level far above his peers. His first year in the NHL was 1979 to 1980 with the Edmonton oilers. He retired in 1999 playing his final NHL game on April 18 with the Rangers.