How long to boil an egg?

Poke the large end of the egg with a pin so the egg won't crack when being boiled. Place in boiling water. Boil: 7 minutes for soft boiled, 8 minutes for jammy but not liquid yolk, 10 minutes for soft centered yolk and 12-13 minutes for hard boiled but not over cooked yolk.