How do owl see in the dark?

First, they have a lot more rods and not as many cones, so they lose color vision, but see a lot better at night. Also their eyes are very large, so they pick up a lot of light rays. Owls also have a sort of mirror at the back of their eye called the tapetum lucidum that reflects more light inside.