Who is the original lone ranger?

The Lone Ranger first appeared in 1933 in a radio show on W.X.Y.Z. in Detroit, Michigan. The radio series proved to be a hit, and spawned a series of books, comic books, several films, and a popular television show that ran from 1949 to 1957, with Clayton Moore in the starring role.