Are zebras white or black?

Are zebras white with black stripes or black with white stripes? Greg Barsh, MD, PhD, is the resident expert on animal morphology at the HudsonAlpha Institute for Biotechnology, and he has a definitive answer. “Zebras are black with white stripes.”