How much calcium does a child need?

Kids need more calcium as they get older to support their growing bones: Kids 1 to 3 years old need 700 mg of calcium a day (2–3 servings). Kids 4 to 8 years old need 1,000 mg of calcium a day (2–3 servings). Kids and teens 9 to 18 years old need 1,300 mg of calcium a day (4 servings).