Where is kermit the frog from?

Born in 1936 in nearby Greenville, Mississippi, famed visionary and puppeteer Jim Henson grew up and played among the swamplands of Leland. The small-town has now proclaimed itself the birthplace of his most famous creation with a permanent exhibit devoted to the man and Kermit the frog.