What's the difference between a realtor and a real estate agent?

Real estate agents have a professional license to help people buy, sell, and rent real estate. A Realtor is a licensed real estate agent or broker (or other real estate professional) who is a member of the National Association of Realtors (NAR). Members must comply with NAR's strict Code of Ethics.