What happened in nineteen seventeen?

Revolution began in Russia. An upheaval occurred in the politics of India and China, both of which overturned 19th-century stereotypes of Asian fatalism to be recognized world wide. USA severed ties with Germany and siezed 109 ships in US ports. Many more things occurred in 1917.