How do you pop popcorn kernels?

To make popcorn, in lg pot, on med. heat add 2 tbl of butter, 2 tbl of vegetable oil, and 1/4 c of popcorn kernels. Put lid on pot, continuously shake on burner until you hear the popcorn popping, turn down temperature to low/med and continue shaking the pot on the burner until no more popping. Salt