What are shades of pale?

“A Whiter Shade of Pale” is a song by Procul Harum, a British band. The phrase refers to a pale woman whose face turns even whiter as “the miller told his tale,” which is a reference to Chaucer’s Canterbury Tales. Shades of pale would refer to the many various gradations of a very light color.