Why do dogs like their tummies rubbed?

Dogs love belly rubs simply because they feel good. It also sets off a specific reaction in their brain that responds to the stimulation of hair follicles. When your dog rolls over on their back and offers you their belly it's a sign that your dog trusts you, not just a sign of submission.