How does bubble gum work?

The warmth of your mouth softens the gum. Chewing separates out the sugar and colouring and helps align the long molecules in the gum base. To blow a bubble, you're supposed to chew until all the flavour is gone, so that the smaller sugar molecules don't weaken the bubble.