What is an x. o. skeleton?

An exoskeleton is a rigid external covering that provides support and protection for the body of some invertebrates such as crabs, spiders, and centipedes.

---

An exoskeleton is the external skeleton that supports and protects an animal's body, in contrast to the internal skeleton of, for example, a human. In usage, some of the larger kinds of exoskeletons are known as "shells".