What sex is a worm?

Most worms are hermaphrodites, meaning they possess both male and female gametes.

---

As worms are generally hermaphrodites and have both male and female sex organs and don’t reproduce until they mature, when they can accommodate another worm by using one or the other set of sex organs. This versatility is an evolutionary advantage to help ensure the continuity of their species.