Have they ever canceled the olympics before?

Yes. The 1916 summer Olympics were cancelled because of World War l. The 1940 and 1944 Summer and Winter Olympics were both cancelled because of World War ll. The 2020 summer Olympics were delayed one year because of the Covid 19 pandemic.