Is a dolphin a word?

NOUN a small gregarious toothed whale that typically has a beaklike snout and a curved fin on the back. Dolphins have become well known for their sociable nature and high intelligence. a bollard, pile, or buoy for mooring boats. a structure for protecting the pier of a bridge.