What is the bagel button do on a toaster?

According to Answer Pantry the function of the bagel button can vary between manufacturers. Bagels are thicker than regular slices of bread, the bagel setting increases the toasting time. Bagel mode may increases the temperature of the element on the cut side, and decrease the temp on the outside.