Are there snakes in new zealand?

New Zealand is one of several large islands around the globe where there have never been native snake populations. ... Since snakes have neither evolved nor been deposited on the islands of New Zealand, their appearance would be a threat to other local wildlife, and so they are vigorously repelled.