What is an isolated shower?

Scattered showers or thunderstorms are those, whose area coverage at any instant is about 10-50 percent, and whose occurrence across the landscape is random. Isolated showers or thunderstorms are loners, individual events well removed from any others, and affecting less than about 5% of the area.