How long does it take for gas to go bad?

It depends on the type of gasoline. Ethenol can lose potency in 1-3 months. Regular unleaded typically lasts 3-6 months. Diesel can be 6 months to a year. The less oxygen the gasoline is exposed to, the longer it will last.