Why do onions spark in the microwave?

Dense vegetables such as Onions, green beans and carrots contain a higher amount of minerals in them than other types of food. These minerals: iron, magnesium, and selenium – act like tiny pieces of metal and create what is known as an “arcing effect” in microwaves. Therefore the spark.