Does corn meal kill ants?

Cornmeal is a very effective, natural way to destroy a colony of ants. However, instead of getting a free meal, this will kill of the ants due to their inability to digest the cornmeal. ... It does take longer to work than a pesticide, but it's safe to use in a house with small children or animals