How do you tell if something is a fruit?

A fruit is scientifically defined as “the mature ovary of a flowering plant that is edible.” The fruit is the ovary, the seed or seeds it encloses, and any parts associated with the ovary. Some fruits produce only one seed, like an avocado or cherry.