What were the punic wars?

The Punic Wars were a series of wars that were fought between the Roman Republic and Ancient Carthage. The First Punic War broke out on the island of Sicily in 264 BC. It was regarded as "the longest and most severely contested war in history" by the Ancient Greek historian Polybius