How did arkansas get its name?

The word Arkansas came from the Quapaw Indians, by way of early French explorers. A tribe of Indians, the Quapaws, lived West of the Mississippi and north of the Arkansas River. The Algonkian-speaking Indians of the Ohio Valley called them the Arkansas, or south wind