How much money did the movie waterworld lose?

At first it lost $147 million. With a budget of $172 million & a total outlay of $235 million with marketing and distribution costs, the film grossed only $88 million at the North American box office. But then it did better overseas, with $176 million at the foreign box office, making a profit.