Can tornadoes kill you in fortnite?

In Fortnite, if a player is close enough to a tornado, the twister will pick them up and swirl them up into the sky. From there, players can either spin around until the cyclone hurls them randomly into the distance, or they can jump out and glide to safety. Your character doesn't die.